Teaspoons

Teaspoons

Today
you kissed me passion​ately, my heart
swelled
welcome change from the fatherly pat
​on my head, reward
for the hoovering and stack of ironed clothes

not enough for a transaction
​of love making

Maybe
if I cook your favourite tea and warm
the plates, it might happen –
what would it take for you to :
stroke my hair / place your hand
gently in the small
of my back / gaze into
my eyes / or / kiss
my neck softly

Perhaps
if I cleaned the cobwebs from
the chandeliers
[or] separated the plastics from
the rubbish
[or] remember to sweep up my hair from
the bedroom floor
I’ll get more
than a teaspoon

Leave a Reply

