The War-torn Child

I will tell God everything
The sharp metal pieces
Taken out of my stomach
Will come with me..

I will tell God everything
The men with the guns
And the aeroplanes of fire
Will all get in trouble

I will tell God everything
And ask if the lightening in the sky
Was Him taking photos
If not, I’ll give him my drawings

I will tell God everything
That mama’s face was gone
But I found Baba’s feet
And put them together like shoes

©Hafsah Aneela Bashir

20140711-093804-34684691.jpg
<br

4 thoughts on “The War-torn Child

  1. zhzareen

    It is awkward to say I enjoyed this poem – it’s not something you’d say about such a subject. But I did. This poem seethes with sharply drawn images. I Loved:

    the “I will tell God everything” refrain: it so effectively evokes the voice of a child…echoed later with, “…Will all get in trouble.”

    Loved:

    “I will ..ask if the lightening in the sky
    Was Him taking photos
    If not, I’ll give him my drawings.”

    Beautiful enough to draw tears.

    “…That mama’s face was gone
    But I found Baba’s feet
    And put them together like shoes.”

    Awe-inspiring; so poignant as to sting and keep stinging.

    Please, don’t be lazy with punctuation, although I can see the point of that – a poem written from the perspective of a child may not need it. I’ll go with that argument if that’s what it is.

    Ah, it would have been so wonderful if you’d read this on air on the Manchester Muslim Writers show on Radio Ramadan. Ho hum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

