Origami

I let them fold my paper body

Head parallel to knees

They tell me this is always

The best way to be seen

Press hard on unruly spine

With palm of heavy hands

Expert thumb – tips of fingers

Pinch curves into a crease

They scissor me a head

I complain I cannot see

They sculpt a beak instead

Where my mouth used to be

My new boned frame emerges

No excess flesh is seen

Contoured into sharpness

This paper swan now gleams….

@Hafsah Aneela Bashir

One thought on “Origami

Leave a Reply

